Fishponds Playing Fields

PUBLIC NOTICE

FISHPONDS PLAYING FIELDS – TRIAL PERIOD FOR SUPERVISED PUBLIC USE

Fishponds Playing Fields have historically been used only by schools and clubs for bookable sports pitch use. It has not been used as public open space for use by the general public due to concerns that the pitches could be misused/damaged.

Following requests from local residents, Wandsworth Council is to proceed with a supervised trial period from Saturday 20 August until Sunday 28 October 2016. During this time members of the public will be able to access the playing fields when there are staff present to supervise sports pitch bookings. This will ensure a level of security and supervision is maintained at all times to prevent misuse or anti-social behaviour. Members of the public will be able to enjoy parts of the playing fields which have not been booked by clubs or schools.

The times when the site is available for public use will vary from week to week according to bookings made. Below outlines when the site is accessible to the public.

Attendant on Site
Start Finish
Mon 22/08/2016 No booking
Tue 23/08/2016 No booking
Wed 24/08/2016 No booking
Thu 25/08/2016 No booking
Fri 26/08/2016 No booking
Sat 27/08/2016 No booking
Sun 28/08/2016 No booking
Mon 29/08/2016 No booking
Tue 30/08/2016 No booking
Wed 31/08/2016 No booking
Thu 01/09/2016 No booking
Fri 02/09/2016 No booking
Sat 03/09/2016 09:00 16:30
Sun 04/09/2016 No booking
Mon 05/09/2016 No booking
Tue 06/09/2016 07:00 16:00
Wed 07/09/2016 07:00 16:00
Thu 08/09/2016 07:00 16:00
Fri 09/09/2016 07:00 16:00
Sat 10/09/2016 09:00 16:00
Sun 11/09/2016 09:00 13:00
Mon 12/09/2016 07:00 17:30
Tue 13/09/2016 07:00 16:00
Wed 14/09/2016 07:00 16:00
Thu 15/09/2016 07:00 16:00
Fri 16/09/2016 07:00 16:00
Sat 17/09/2016 09:00 16:30
Sun 18/09/2016 09:00 16:30
Mon 19/09/2016 07:00 17:30
Tue 20/09/2016 07:00 16:00
Wed 21/09/2016 07:00 16:00
Thu 22/09/2016 07:00 16:00
Fri 23/09/2016 07:00 16:00
Sat 24/09/2016 09:00 16:30
Sun 25/09/2016 09:00 12:30
Mon 26/09/2016 07:00 17:30
Tue 27/09/2016 07:00 16:00
Wed 28/09/2016 07:00 16:00
Thu 29/09/2016 07:00 16:00
Fri 30/09/2016 07:00 16:00

 

Properties backing on to the site will have received a letter outlining the trial arrangements and providing contact details for reporting any issues that arise.

A review of the trial will take place in late 2016. The impact on surrounding homes, anti-social behaviour and protecting the sports pitches from damage will be the deciding factors. Dogs are not permitted on the playing fields at any time.

If significant problems are encountered during the trial period it will be ended early.

To submit comments on the trial please email parks@wandsworth.gov.uk

Enable Leisure and Culture on behalf of Wandsworth Council