Active Wandsworth Awards 2022

Active Wandsworth Awards 2022

The Active Wandsworth Awards exist to recognise and reward the Wandsworth community for their talent, commitment and dedication in inspiring others to get active and stay active. The Awards have been an annual celebration of Sport and Physical Activity in Wandsworth for the past 25 years. As one of the major highlights in the local sporting calendar the event recognises the achievements of local sports people, clubs and teams and the dedication of local coaches, volunteers and organisations. Over 200 people from around the borough attend the awards evening, alongside the nominees and their guests, we will welcome local councillors and guests from key Borough and London sporting organisations to celebrate our local heroes on March 3rd 2023.

In their 25 year history the awards have recognised hundreds of amazing local people in that time and crowned some exceptional athletes including England rugby star  Kyle Sinckler and Olympic athletes Katie Snowden and Steph Davis.

The Awards celebrate and acknowledge the talented local sports people, coaches, volunteers, schools, organisations and clubs for their dedication and personal commitment to helping local people achieve their goals. These dedicated people work across the borough everyday and make a huge difference across the Wandsworth community.

2022 Winners Announced!

Category Shortlisted Third Place Second Place Winner (s)
Active School of the Year 2022 Garratt Park School, Holy Ghost Primary School, Our Lady Queen of Heaven Primary School     Smallwood Primary School
Young Volunteer of the Year 2022       Phoenix Green, Marcell Kodom-Nyamekye & Attila Chilanga-Halbritter
Volunteer of the Year 2022       Angelo Rantac, Emma Watson, Kate Baldwin, Keith Newton, Marilyn Walker, Zoe Goodwin
The Mayor’s Award 2022 Baked Bean Charity, Disability Sports Coach     WASADS Supported Family Swim Programme
Coach / Instructor of the Year 2022 Cindy Hannegraf, Dave Watson     Tunde Balogun
Outstanding Contribution to Sport/Physical Activity 2022       William Collins
Sports Club/Organisation of the Year Award 2022 Broomwood Football Club, Doverhouse Lions Football Club     Spencer Lynx
Physical Activity Project of the Year 2022 Footy Addicts, Tooting Run Club/Herne Hill Harriers, Wandle Wanderers FTW     Storm Family Centre
Junior Sports Person of the Year 2022 Isabella Turner Samuels, Max Hunt, Zach Carr Keeran Sriskandarajah   Amalia Freeland & Julia Marczak
Sports Person of the Year 2022 Andrea Thomas, Maddie Blinkhorn Jones, Thomas Jefferson Matt Dickinson Katie Snowden Javier and Joaquin Bello

Get Involved

To speak with us about reaching new audiences through our sponsorship opportunities or to get involved in the future please see more below and contact

Learn more about our sponsorship opportunities.

Winners were awarded at the annual ceremony which took place on Friday 3 March hosted by reporter, journalist and Sky Sports TV Presenter Emma Paton at the Civic Suite, Wandsworth.